Etias: Find out about the new permit you need to travel to Europe | Tourism and travel

Anyone planning to visit Europe next year will need to familiarize themselves with the new European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS), which evaluate the profiles of each tourist and only after that allow them to enter the Schengen countries (which covers 26 countries).

Registration in the system should be mandatory in mid-2023. The system has been under discussion since 2016 and will come into force in 2021, but its introduction has been delayed.

Prior to this measure, citizens of some countries, such as Brazil, were allowed to enter the territory for the purpose of tourism without any visa or travel permit. OUR Etias is not a visabut some kind of online permission that is requested every three years (see below for details).

The idea of ​​the European Commission is to improve the security of the Schengen area. Applications will be reviewed during the process. ensure that no one poses a threat to the security of the region.

  • Global entry: how to apply for a program that speeds up entry into the usa

Ask your questions about the system below based on information from the European Commission on etias:

  • What is Etias?
  • What is the Schengen area?
  • Does Etias replace a visa?
  • Which countries can I travel to with Etias?
  • How long can you stay in Europe?
  • When does he start acting?
  • Which countries are winning?
  • How long will the power of attorney be valid?
  • What do I need to get Etias?
  • Can I opt out of Etias?
  • How long will it take to get a response?
  • Do I have to pay any fees?
  • Will I have to introduce Etias somewhere?
  • Who is in the Schengen area?
  • Check out the 60 countries that can use Etias

European Tourist Information and Authorization System a digital platform that will determine if a person can enter the Schengen areaby analyzing personal information completed in an online form, such as date of birth, criminal records and travel information.

By checking the data presented in various databases, Etias will be able to determine whether a person poses a threat to any of the countries in the region.

What is the Schengen area?

O The Schengen area is the junction of 26 European countries that have signed an agreement on a policy of free movement between people in the signatory countries.

Not all EU member states have signed the agreement, as is the case with Ireland. Similarly, non-EU states such as Monaco, San Marino and the Vatican can join the Schengen area. (see all member countries at the end of the report).

The word “Schengen” is a tribute to the city of Schengen in Luxembourg, where the original agreement was signed in June 1985.

Etias is not a visa, but permission for those who travel for the purpose of tourism or business. He targeted specifically at countries that do not need a visa to enter the Schengen area.

Countries that require an entry visa will not have access to Etias. In the case of Brazil, only those who intend to travel for work or study need to apply for a special visa for these situations.

  • VIDEO: how to get a passport
  • A PET: see what precautions to take on an airplane

Which countries can I travel to with Etias?

Upon entering this area, tourists can move freely between the 26 treaty countries as there are no rigid internal borders.

How long does it allow you to stay in Europe?

Etias allows short stays for up to 90 days, for periods of 180 daysthat is, after returning to the country of origin, an interval of at least 90 days will be required for return to Europe.

There is currently no scheduled date. But The idea is that the system will be operational in May 2023.

In which countries should Etias be used?

Now, 60 countries coveredincluding Brazil, the measure applies to all those who have already been exempted from visas for European destinations. Check the list at the end of the report.

Citizens of other nationalities will still need a Schengen visa and will not be eligible for Etias.

How long will the power of attorney be valid?

After the publication of Etias, the permit will be valid for three yearsunless the passport expires earlier.

What does it take to get Etias?

Will need fill in the online application form with basic personal information, such as name, address, date of birth, and passport details. The website address has not yet been released.

Responses will also be requested about criminal records, travel to conflict zones and certain security issues..

It is also important to have an email address to receive Etias, as well as a passport valid for at least three months from the date of application, and a debit or credit card to pay the fee.

How long will it take to get a response?

Etias processing promises to be fast: most travelers must receive approval in about 15 days. In some exceptional cases, the period may be extended up to 30 or 60 days..

Can I opt out of Etias?

Yes it is possible but 95% of applications must be approvednotes the European Commission.

Read also – Air miles:

  • What is it and how to start
  • Find out if it’s worth saving

Do I have to pay any fees?

Sim, travelers will have to pay to travel to Europe with Etias. The cost should be 7 euros (about 37 reais in the price of last Wednesday, 18). Children under 18 and over 70 do not pay.

This fee is used to cover processing costs, the European Commission said in a statement.

It’s there must be paid online by debit or credit card.

Will I have to introduce Etias somewhere?

A visa waiver approved at Etias will be linked to the passport used in the application and will checked when a person crosses the outer Schengen border.

How to get a US tourist visa

Who is in the Schengen area?

  • Germany
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Denmark
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Greece
  • Netherlands
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Czech Republic
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Monaco
  • San Marino
  • Vatican

Check out the 60 countries that can use Etias

  • Albania
  • Andorra
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Dominica
  • Savior
  • Georgia
  • Granada
  • Guatemala
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Kiribati
  • Macau
  • North Macedonia
  • Malaysia
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauricio Islands
  • Mexico
  • micronesia
  • Moldova
  • Montenegro
  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • Palau
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent
  • Samoa
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • Solomon islands
  • South Korea
  • Taiwan
  • Timor read
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tuvalu
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • USA
  • Uruguay
  • Vanuatu
  • Venezuela

Leave a Comment